M1 - Web_Heroes-Motorsport-WAU2


A joint venture that brings together three motorsport powerhouses:

  • The name Walkinshaw has been a dominant force in Australian touring car racing for more than 25 years.
  • Owned and run by Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport is a multi-championship winning team currently competing in; IndyCar Series, Indy Lights, GT4 Americas, FIA Formula E and Americas Rallycross. Championship victories include; IndyCar Series, Indy Lights, Indy Pro 2000, USF2000 and Indianapolis 500.
  • United Autosports is one of the UK’s largest motorsport teams, who compete globally in different sports prototype categories. They’re two-time European LeMans Series LMP3 Champions and the 2018/2019 Asian LeMans Series Champion.

As of 2018, the three have joined forces under the banner of Walkinshaw Andretti United (WAU) – to contest the Supercars Championship. The 2019 driver line-up in the WAU’s two Mobil 1 Walkinshaw Andretti United ZB Commodores is Scott Pye (#2) and James Courtney (#22).


Walkinshaw Racing

Australian racing fans were first introduced to the Walkinshaw name in 1985, when one of Tom Walkinshaw’s XJS Jaguar’s took victory in that year’s Bathurst 1000 (Tom’s XJS crossed the line in third). The Walkinshaw name has tasted success in many forms of motorsport – including F1, BTCC, and outright victory at LeMans a number of times. In Australia, the Walkinshaw name is best known through its dominance of the V8 Supercar category. Through a succession of partnerships, the Walkinshaw name has been associated with no less than eight drivers’ championships and six Bathurst victories. That is an incredible success rate. Such was Tom Walkinshaw’s personal contribution to Australian Touring Car Racing, Supercars Australia inducted the Scotsman into the Hall of Fame in 2018. After Tom Walkinshaw succumbed to cancer in 2010, his widow, Martine and son, Ryan took over the running of the Walkinshaw Racing’s Supercars operation.


Andretti Racing

Through Mario Andretti and later his son, Michael’s racing exploits, the Andretti name is one of the most successful and most recognised names in world motorsport. To date, Mario is the only driver to win the F1 World Driver’s Championship, USAC Championship (IndyCar), plus the Indianapolis 500 (1969) and Daytona 500 (1967). Mario’s son Michael continued the family tradition, winning the 1991 CART PPG Indy Car World Series, as well as scoring a total of 42 race victories. After retiring from active competition in 2003, Michael has directed his energies into running Andretti Autosport. The teams’ efforts have been rewarded with over 200 race wins, including four IndyCar Series championships, three Indy Lights titles, one Indy Pro 2000 and one USF2000 championship. They’ve also captured victory five times at the famed Indianapolis 500. Marco Andretti (Michael’s son) currently competes in the IndyCar Series – making him a third-generation Andretti racer.


United Autosports

Having started out as a GT team, United Autosports have successfully branched out into racing sports prototypes globally. The UK-based team are multi-race and multi-championship winners, having won the 2016 and 2017 European Le Mans Series LMP3 Championships. Most recently, they took out the 2018/2019 Asian Le Mans Series LMP2 Championship. Co-owned by McLaren CEO, Zak Brown and racing driver Richard Dean, United Autosports have raced in a number of different championships and have come to know many of the world’s leading motorsport manufacturers. Many renowned drivers have driven for United, including; Fernando Alonso, Juan Pablo Montoya, Lando Norris and Paul Di Resta.

Aside from their modern racing activities, they’re a racing parts supplier of note. They also restore, maintain and race a significant collection of rare, historic Formula One and sports cars. United Autosports are a true championship-winning, global motorsports organisation.